The Safran Foundation for Music Prize goes to the pianist, Wenjiao Wang

Paris, September 26, 2011 - The Safran Foundation for Music Prize 2011 will be awarded on October 3 to Wenjiao Wang. This young Chinese pianist, already the winner of many top prizes during the course of her studies, exudes artistry and passion from her very fingertips! Her virtuosity has already been much admired in recitals she has given at major festivals. She will receive her award from the hands of Anne Queffélec, a pianist of international renown.
The ceremony will take place at 8 PM in the Grand Salon of the Musée de l'Armée at the Hôtel National des Invalides, Paris. For this exceptional concert, the prize-winner has chosen to perform the following program:

Granados, Scènes romantiques (in homage to Chopin)
Schumann, Sonata No. 2 in G minor, opus 22
Albeniz, Iberia (Evocacion and Rondeña), extract
Bartok, Piano Sonata
Wang, Hundred birds worship the phoenix

The Safran Foundation for Music supports promising young musicians with their training or to help launch their professional careers. It also provides its support to the structures most likely to give their careers a boost. Last but not least, it takes a proactive approach towards bringing in young people from the inner cities so that they can discover and practice classical music. Since its creation in November 2004, the Foundation has developed a durable partnership network.

For the past five years, the Safran Foundation for Music has partnered in this way the Musée de l'Armée for the musical cycle: "Jeunes Talents - Premières Armes" ("Young Talent - First Arms"). This enables young and brilliant musicians from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris to perform in front of a keen and demanding public. This cycle comprises a dozen or so concerts and, year-in, year-out, has between 20 and 40 artistes taking to the stage. At the end of the season, one of the performers whose talent has really stood out - Wenjiao Wang this year - is awarded the Safran Foundation for Music Prize, to the value of €5000.
The Safran Prize is intended to support the prize-winner in the development of his or her professional career, by providing him or her with the opportunity to establish a reputation vis-à-vis the front-line structures or festivals that are themselves supported by the Foundation.

Since the creation of the Safran Foundation for Music Prize, three young artists have been rewarded in this way: Maja Bogdanovic (cello), Natacha Kudritskaya (piano), Mi-Sa Yang (violin).

Press contacts for Safran:
- Françoise Descheemaeker, Chair of the Safran Foundation for Music - 01 40 60 81 06
- Catherine Malek, Press Service Manager - 01 40 60 80 28

Press contact for the Musée de l'Armée:
- Christine Helfrich, Head of the Cultural Action and Music Department - 01 44 42 48 38

Hit enter to search or ESC to close